FIVE famous faces from across the borough have been awarded the highest honour the council can bestow – the freedom of the borough.

Freedom of The Borough is a tradition that goes back hundreds of years where the recipient received various privileges within the borough.

Over time, it has become more of an honorary accomplishment.

The latest recipients have been recognised for their services to the borough.

Here are the recipients:

  • Katherine Brunt (Cricketer) – Katherine has played cricket for 18 years and has been the English Women's Cricketer of the year on four occasions. Katherine started her career at Barnsley Cricket Club.

  • Graham Ibbeson (Sculptor) – Graham has been dubbed as 'The People's Sculptor' and is best known for his realistic sculptures. Barnsley is home to a number of Graham's works including the Oaks Mining Disaster sculpture, the Kes statue, and the Covid memorial.

  • Katherine Kelly (Actress) – Kelly has appeared on both the stage and TV. She was best known for playing Becky on Coronation Street and has performed on stage with the Royal Shakespeare Company and the West End.

  • Mat Wright MBE (Artistic Director) – Matt is the founder and artistic director of Barnsley Youth Choir. The choir is currently ranked third in the Interkultur World Rankings and is the highest overall ranked choir from Great Britain.

  • ICU at Barnsley Hospital – Following a difficult year, the team on the Intensive Care Unit have been given the honour on behalf of the people of Barnsley to represent the pride and gratitude the town has shown to the staff.

Coun Sir Steve Houghton CBE, leader of Barnsley Council, said “I am delighted and honoured to be awarding these five remarkable nominees with the Honorary Freedom of the Borough.

“There is no higher award or recognition that we as a council can bestow and it is a title not awarded lightly. I’m sure everyone will agree that the five nominees are all more than worthy of this honour with their varied and outstanding contributions and services to our borough.

“On behalf of myself, the council and all our residents, I’d like to thank and congratulate all our nominees.”