HOLIDAYMAKERS are urged to check before they travel as new countries have been added to the red and amber travel lists.

From 4am this morning (June 8) the status of eight countries has been changed.

Now on the red list for travel is Afghanistan, Bahrain, Costa Rica, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Sudan and Trinidad and Tobago.

You will only be allowed to enter the UK from these countries if you are a British or Irish national, or have residence rights in the UK.

You will also be required to take a Covid test and quarantine in a managed hotel.

Portugal, including the Azores ad Madiera, has been moved onto the amber list which means you should not travel to the country, and will be required to quarantine at home for ten days upon your return to the UK.

The status of the destinations was changed today, and anyone who enters the country after this time will be required to follow the appropriate rules for the country they have holidayed in.

If you would like more information, or want to check your holiday destination, click here.