TEACHERS across Barnsley have announced that they will be striking on Wednesday - leading to a number of school closures.

The row, over a dispute in pay, pensions and workloads, has prompted the action by the National Union of Teachers.

Here's the schools that we have had confirmed closure notices from - more will be added as we get them confirmed so feel free to notify us in the comment box below. 


Athersley North Primary

Athersley South Primary

Birkwood Primary

Brierley CE (VC) Primary

Burton Road Primary

Dodworth St John Primary

Doncaster Road Primary 

Holy Rood Primary

Hoyland Springwood Primary

Hunningley Primary

Lacewood Primary

Milefield Primary

Oakhill Primary

Penistone St John's Primary 

Richard Newman Primary 

Silkstone Primary

Dearne ALC

The Ellis CE (VA) Primary

Ward Green Primary

Worsbrough Band End Primary

Worsbrough Common Primary

Carlton Community College - Open for years 10 and 11

Cherry Dale Primary - Open except classes FS1, FS2. year 1 JW and year 2 JW

Darton College - Open for years 10 and 11

Dearne Goldthorpe Primary - FS1 morning and afternoon sessions closed

Elsecar Holy Trinity - Open for year 6 only

Gooseacre Primary - Open for year 6 only

High View Primary - Classes to stay open: RJW, 1CG, 2NS, 2NS, 3JH, 4BL, 5JM, 6RW, 6TS

Kirk Balk Community College - Open to year 11 only

Penistone Grammar ALC - Open to years 11, 12 and 13

Royston Meadstead Primary - Only open to F1, F2 and years 2 and 6

Shafton ALC - Only open to year 11

Summer Lane Primary - Classes 4, 5, 7 and 8 are not open for pupils.

West Meadows Primary - Closed for F2, Y2, Y3 and Y5 but open for F1, Y1, Y4, Y6

Wombwell Park Street Primary - Nursery and year 6 only