HUNDREDS of nominations have been whittled down for the Proud of Barnsley awards.

Author Milly Johnson, Egyptologist Joann Fletcher, Couns Tracy Cheetham and Karen Dyson, Barnsley Central MP Dan Jarvis, Barnsley FC defender Bobby Hassell, and Chronicle editor Andrew Harrod along with reporter Katia Harston are the judges who had the responsibility of narrowing down the shortlists for 14 categories.

Joann Fletcher, who won a BAFTA and a Royal Television Award for her programme 'Mummifying Alan: Egypt's Last Secret', said it was uplifting to see so many of the town's unsung heroes being nominated.

"It's definitely been a task trying to decide but I think we have a good selection of people from across the town who are being recognised for their achievements," she added.

The candidates shortlisted for each category in the Proud of Barnsley Awards are as follows:

Young Superstar:

Olivia and Keenan Faulkner

Pegah Muulana

Tala Turton

Young Entrepreneur:

Jade Bryan

Tom Maskill

Jess Pollard

Young Apprentice:

Adam Holland

Amy Jones

Jason Whitehead

Triumph Over Adversity:

Gail Arnold

James Knowles

Peter Wilkinson

Sporting Achievement:

Sue Gilroy

Fred Gummerson

Caroline Fisher


Athersley South Primary


Summer Lane Primary

Good Neighbour:

Joe Battye

Dorothy Kirby

Roya Pourali

Emergency Services:

Ian Anderson

Sean Mountain

Chris Thompson

Community Group:

Barnsley Street Pastors

Church of the Nazarene


Children's Champion:

Barnsley Parents and Carers' Forum

Barnsley Youth Choir

The Star Boxing Club


Jill Mallinder

Betty Fisher

Louise Harper

Diane McNulty

Green Award:

Barnsley College Think Low Carbon Centre

Hannah Jones and Kimberley Robertshaw

Michelle Powell

Exceptional Achievement:

Karl Cooper

Linda Pattison

Rebecca Pickles

Volunteer of the Year:

Dean Hibberd

Louise Jones

The Well Volunteers